Thoughts that make me go “hmmm”.

March 7, 2007 at 9:46 am 2 comments

The last week of blogging and thinking about blogging has tired me out.  I need a break from the intensity of this discussion on things that are broken

After 7+ weeks of blogging we just went over 6000 hits on the site so that is pretty cool. Thanks for reading.

I love to read and I love pithy quotes and phrases that make me think or that make me just stop and say, “hmmm.”  So beginning today I am starting a new semi-regular feature on The View from the Juniper Tree called “Thoughts that make me go hmmm.”  Hopefully it will be fun and maybe we can learn something too. 

So here is the first installment in “Thoughts that make me go hmmm”.

To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken.  If you want to be sure to keep it intact, you must give your heart to no one.  Lock it up safe in the coffin of your selfishness.  But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless it will change.  It will not be broken but it will become unbreakable, unpenetrable, irredeemable.  (author unknown)

The only place outside heaven where we can be safe from love is hell.  (C.S. Lewis)

I have found the paradox that if I love until it hurts, then there is no more hurt,  but only more love. (Mother Teresa)

We were not made for law but for love.  (George McDonald)

As Brad said: Love wins.

Entry filed under: Thoughts that make me go "hmmm".

Sometimes you just have to dig another well. No other reason.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BS  |  March 9, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    just wanted to clarify…
    LOVE WINS is my favorite slogan and something i want to live my life by…
    however, ROB BELL is the one to take FULL credit for such a great little slogan.

  • 2. bb  |  March 7, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    hmmm

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

