Heal the sick, raise the dead… A testimony.

February 13, 2007 at 12:54 pm 7 comments

Jesus said, “Heal the sick, raise the dead, cure those with leprosy and cast out demons.  Give as freely as you have received.” Matthew 10:8)

The intention of this blog is not theological or devotional in its purpose.  Mostly it is a place for me to express my thoughts and ideas.  I don’t think I have an agenda but I do have some biases, one of which is that as a follower of Jesus I think I have missed an awful lot of what He had in mind when He went back to heaven telling us that we would do greater things than He did.  His leaving would bring the Spirit to us, giving us the power necessary to build His Kingdom, to which He would one day return.

For whatever time I have left I don’t want to miss what He had in mind like I have in the past.

I received the following email from a young friend of mine.  They have given me permission to print it here anonymously in hopes that the glory would be to the Father.  This person is no different than you or me.  They are not crazy or prone to outrageous ideas or an undisciplined lifestyle.  From what I can tell they just want more of Jesus and more of the power that comes when you get more of Him. I would be interested in hearing what you think about what this person has to say. 

I am well. I went and got blasted by God at a Todd
Bentley conference in Redding California (Bill
Johnson’s church) a few days ago. You should have
gone. It was a youth conference. You would have loved
it. I got prayed for by Todd, got totally tanked with
the Spirit, then went out in the parking lot and
started praying for people. They were all falling over
and laughing, to my surprise. Before I knew it, 150
people showed up, and we all got touched by the Lord
in a beautiful way. Little kids, adults, whoever.
Totally unplanned and spontaneous. People got out
banners and started dancing, not because they were
supposed to, but because they wanted to. What a
concept. A camera crew even showed up, taping what was
happening and getting clips of people crying,
laughing, convulsing on the ground because a big God
was in a little body, worshipping, praying for others,
etc. I prayed for a guy and his knee got healed, and
another and he grew his left testical back. And no, I
didn’t check it myself.
So basically, it was amazing. I want that revival fire
to break out in Shelton. That is my prayer.
On the way home, one of the guys in the car got a word of
knowledge that at exit 154 on I-5, there was a guy who
was deaf. Hundreds of miles later we finally got to
exit 154, pulled off, and there was nothing. No
buildings, gas stations, nothing. We drove down a
country road for awhile, and almost turned around,
thinking it was an off word. Suddenly, we came up to a
house that had a bunch of cars parked out in front.
 Adam, my buddy who got the word, jumped out in courage
and boldness and asked the guy on the front porch of
this farm house if the guy knew of anyone who was
deaf, because Jesus wanted to heal them. The guy’s jaw
dropped. Turns out that the only guy in the whole town
that is deaf was this guy’s cousin, and he happened to
live at that very house. We prayed for the guy, Larry,
but didn’t see an instant miracle. We are hoping that
it is a progressive healing. I was surprised it didn’t
happen right then and there.

Anyways, God is beautiful and amazing. Jesus is stunning. He told us about
someone in the middle of nowhere that He wanted to
touch with His love, though we weren’t even in the
same state at the time when He told us. We were in
Northern Cali, and exit 154 was in Oregon.
Oh, and I turned 24 yesterday. 24 feels like 23, but
more in love with Jesus.
I have known this person well for most of their life.  They love Jesus, they have forsaken the entanglements of the world and are just trying to do what they can where they are.  While I have lots of questions, mostly I want the touch of the Spirit that they have because I need a lot more of Jesus and whole lot less of me.

What do you think?

Entry filed under: Christianity, Faith, Jesus.

Good stuff. Strong and graceful oak trees.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana Burke  |  February 13, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    God is the same yesterday, today and forever.

  • 2. KC  |  February 13, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    Well let us hear your thoughts brother Justin. Blog away.

  • 3. .justin  |  February 13, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    my question: what has to GO in order to have this COME?

    i have my thoughts.

  • 4. Larry  |  February 13, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Love Tuesdays blog – It shows that God is indeed alive and doing the super things that He by His Spirit can do. All right God do it again but with a vast group of those who name you as their own.

    Good stuff!

  • 5. Danna  |  February 13, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Having experienced the same thing in my life experience, I can say that it is real, it is awesome, and God doesn’t change. Pray for revival and for the Holy Spirit to come. And, for those Shelton folks, this has happened in Shelton. It happened too in our home. No one could stand, walk for the joy and presence of God. Glory to God. . . He is awesome.

  • 6. BS  |  February 13, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    what do i think?
    i think this person is crazy…
    crazy in love with JESUS.
    i must admit, i get a little weirded out by some of what was depicted in the email.
    but then i think, ‘hey, this is how it should be…doing crazy, out of the box, bold, a little weird, not so comforable things.’
    i latch in to the statement above, ‘forsaken the entanglements of the world’ and want desperatly to do that myself.
    i think, though, that i grieve the HOLY SPIRIT constantly by my actions, inability to let go of things, lack of passion, lack of desire, my thoughts, etc.
    quite frankly, i am tired of breaking GOD’s heart and tired of Christians breaking HIS heart as well.
    i long for the simplicity of life.
    for life to just get out of the way so that i can stop at exit 154 and pray for a deaf man to be healed.
    oh for the opportunity to slow down and have shalom and communion with the GOD and CREATOR of the universe.
    commune anyone?
    oh wait, that wouldn’t satisfy either…

  • 7. Doug Wright  |  February 13, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Traditional (modern times) belief is contradictory to this kind of behavior. Healing is considered something that happened in the past but we have moved outside that relm into a modern society that heals itself when and where possible.
    I find this refreshing that someone in this century has found a freedom in Jesus that doesn’t listen to the traditional. And they did it at 24 years old.
    I’m more than double that age and know I’ve missed a large part of what God still has planned for us. Count me in!
    No I won’t check for the miracle testicle either.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

