The need to always be right.

February 5, 2007 at 7:24 am 1 comment

J. B. Priestley said “We live in an age when no man of importance ever admits that he is wrong.”

Listen to any politician answering a critiquing question and their answer will never ever include,  “I was wrong on that decision”, or “we made a mistake”.  Somehow we have gotten to the place where ever being wrong is some sort of mortal failure.  But it is obvious that all of us get it wrong some times and some of us are wrong more than we are right.

It is the curse of insecurity that makes us feel the need to always be right.  An unwillingness to readily admit mistakes is fueled by the insatiable desire for the approval of others.  Do we honestly believe that others will like us less or respect us less if we admit that we are wrong?  Yes, we do.

It happens so seldom that we are caught off guard by a person’s admission of being wrong that we are inclined to not believe them.  Admission of failure is such a limited commodity in our culture that we are sure the person must be weak or dishonest when they simply say, “I was wrong, please forgive me.”

James, the brother of Jesus gave some insight into this issue when he wrote in the letter that bears his name: Confess your sins (that is,admit you were wrong) to each other and pray for each other that you may be healed. (5:16)

Could it be that the road to healing in this country, in the church, or in our personal lives might be as simple as saying “I was wrong”?

By the way, I was wrong in my posting yesterday when I had Pastor Tim’s quote this way: In life as in golf you are only as good as your last shot.  It should have read: In life as in golf you are only as good as your next shot.  Makes a difference.  It has been corrected.

Entry filed under: Culture, Faith, Thoughts.

In life as in golf… What makes us sad or glad?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. KC  |  February 8, 2007 at 11:24 am

    I’m shocked that you didn’t get much response from this post. When I read it the first time, I thought I was reading an article on Fox News. This might be my favorite post so far, because it highlights (almost in reflection of its response) a major problem our society faces at work, at home and in the Church.
    I could go on and on about the areas in my life where I feel like I did things wrong or should have done them better or differently. Do I broadcast those for all to hear? No. Do I get down on my knees and ask God to forgive me? Not nearly enough. Do I ask for forgiveness from those that I have wronged or may have felt that I wronged them? Again, not as often as I probably should and due to “wanting to be right,” factor, not as willingly or selflessly as I should either.
    I think this post needs to be sent into a few editorial boards. Even our President, Mr. George W. Bush, could probably get off of his high horse and share with us his heart, his admission to having done things wrong. He may be the President, but he’s only human and I think it would show those that would hear, true leadership and shock those that would not expect it.
    That’s not for anyone to jump on the “anti-Bush” bandwagon either. Again, he’s human and I believe he is doing what he believes is the best thing for this country. Its just sad that he doesn’t or isn’t able to share why he believes its SO important.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

