In life as in golf…

February 4, 2007 at 11:25 am 2 comments

I think it was Pastor Tim Wimberly (Church of Living Water) that said this in a message a few months back:  In life as in golf, you are only as good as your next shot. 

At the time I heard that comment I was lamenting some really poor “shots” on my part that had left me emotionally, spiritually and professionally in the “rough”.  I had sliced some and hooked some and my next shot in life was really critical.  In life as in golf you are only as good as your next shot.

The only shot we can take in that position is to agree with God that the hooks, slices and bad putts we have taken have fallen short of the “greens” of His expectations for His created and trust that His promise to forgive those failures is real and without any exceptions.  No matter what I might have done or you might have done, the Father does not stop loving us, (even if some people do) He graciously gives unconditional forgiveness and then says “take another shot”.

With the knowledge that we are forgiven and free and with the maturity and wisdom that comes from confessed failure, we tee it up again and take our next shot. 

I am not a golfer so the analogy has surely broken down somewhere, but I hope it has held together sufficiently enough for you to get the point.  When we fail, when we fall way short of the mark or even if our failure isn’t that far from the mark (it doesn’t matter how far or how close, it still missed), the gracious Father hears our heart and says “My love has not changed, you are still my beloved child, go ahead, take another shot”.

See you on the course!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The really good news. The need to always be right.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brooks  |  February 4, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Through the filter of Jesus and the Atonement, from the Father’s perspective we all look like Tiger Woods. We’re studs/stud muffins on the course of life and if we saw ourselves more like He does i promise you that our game would improve instantly and vastly!

  • 2. Marty Wilson  |  February 4, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    I love this one! I’m so glad the Lord loves us unconditionally. I think our lives are usually in the rough when we do seek out God (unfortunately). We seem to forget when everything is going well. One thing I’ve tried to practice is to always thank him for the times I’m not in the rough and forgiving me for the times I am!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

