The really good news.

February 2, 2007 at 4:05 pm 2 comments

There has been some significant response to yesterday’s post.  Perhaps because there are a lot of us who struggle with giving our failure, our shame and our brokenness to Jesus and accepting the truth that He can handle it.

For way to long I have known intellectually that there was nothing I could do to make God love me more than He already did and I knew in my mind that I didn’t even have to stop doing anything in order to enjoy and rest in His unconditional love but,  I guess it just seemed to simple, to unlike the way the God of the Universe would operate for my heart to believe it.

How much energy do we spend trying to be good enough or covering up the stuff we know isn’t good enough?  You know, that deep down where you are most honest with yourself, you are afraid that if the people at church knew what you were or what you did last night or last week or last year they would not like you and might even ask you to not join them at church anymore.  We have seen it happen to too many others, to not have some serious angst about it.

So we hide, we cover, we go to church Sunday after Sunday hoping that no one can see inside of us.  Or we just don’t bother to go to church, or we drop out of church, because we are certain that God can see what we are and just as certain that He couldn’t accept us as one of His dearly loved children, knowing what He knows.

Listen to these words from the heart of the Father: Do not be afraid, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.  You are precious in my eyes because you are honored and I love you… the mountains may depart, the hills be shaken, but my love for you will never leave you and my covenant of peace with you will never be shaken.  (Isaiah 42:1,4;54:10)

It is true, every word of it and I know how hard it is to believe it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Never good enough?! In life as in golf…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. renversgirl  |  February 4, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    this just broke my heart. it still amazes me how you can seemingly read what is going on in my life and know what i need to hear. the Father couldn’t have sent me a better translator for when i don’t seem to be able to speak His language. thank you.

  • 2. Earl Radmacher  |  February 4, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Greg,

    Todays blog is the kind of material out of which revivals are born. See article on the 1907 revival in North Korea in CT.

    Earl

    the link to the article is: http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2007/januaryweb-only/105.32.0.html

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

