Taylor Guitar Company.

January 23, 2007 at 8:38 am 4 comments

taylor011.jpgThere are a few of you out there who are avid Taylor Guitar people and you will be excited about this post.  Perhaps some of you, not so much.

Linda and I are here in San Diego, Chula Vista actually, about 8 miles from Mexico and about 25 minutes from El Cajon, the home of Taylor Guitars.  So we toured the factory yesterday.

It was really interesting.  Taylor is now one of the largest builders of high end guitars and is run by Bob Taylor who started the company with no guitar building experience and has become the leading innovator in the business.  The company makes about 270 guitars a day with 400+ employees. 

The neat thing about the process is that, while they have some very creative automation that actually enhances the product, they still keep the human touch in a number of ways. 

Taylor is another company that is very pro-employee while still being privately held and another company whose roots are deep in faith.  Their employees are young and energetic and the R&D side of the company has taken it where it is today, the most innovative and yet in many ways traditional guitar company in the world.

If you play guitar you know Taylors.  If you are thinking about learning to play guitar you can’t go wrong with a Taylor.

(Justin, Dan, Kasey, Gale, I have the piece from your sound hole they were saving for you.)

www.taylorguitars.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happiness. The San Diego Zoo and Noah.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ron Marrs  |  January 29, 2007 at 6:58 am

    I’m jealous. I really like my Taylor.

    Ron

  • 2. Brooks  |  January 26, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    I’ve had a love relationship with my Taylor 710 for some 10 years now, but i must confess….i’ve found a new love. Her name……MG4.5-XP….her creator(other than God)….McPherson Guitars. Dude, this is the sweetest guitar i’ve ever seen or had the pleasure of playing. All i can say for now is…..it’s so good to be me.

    http://www.mcphersonguitars.com

  • 3. KC  |  January 23, 2007 at 9:38 am

    I knew that piece should have been included when I purchased the guitar. For all of the times I’m not playing it, I figured it kept the moths out. I’ll forward to getting that from you when I see you.
    You guys are doing all of the cool stuff. I should head down there and hang out.

  • 4. .justin  |  January 23, 2007 at 9:06 am

    man, those T5 molds are sweet. that takes a lot of wood! i do have to say i absolutely LOVE my tom anderson crowdster plus though!
    thanks for the “bonus” pictures. it’s like extended family…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

