Happiness.

January 21, 2007 at 8:55 am 3 comments

G.K. Chesterton wrote Joy, which is the small publicity of the pagan, is the gigantic secret of the Christian.

King David wrote Blessed is every one who fears the Lord, who walks in his ways! You shall eat the fruit of the labor of your hands; you shall be happy, and it shall be well with you.

Everyone wants to be happy, to be blessed.  Often we refuse to pay attention to the One who wants our happiness more than we even want it.  In our ignorance we suppose that the way of the Father is a harder way to get what we want than trying to find it on our own.  But we are wrong.  The Father’s ways and His presence are where we experience the happiness that is eternal. 

Do it the easy way this week because Happy is everyone who fears (gives honor to) the Father, who walks in His way.

Have a great week!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In-N-Out Taylor Guitar Company.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KC  |  January 24, 2007 at 8:34 am

    A friend once wrote me a note saying, “God doesn’t care about YOUR happiness, He cares about your holiness.” And I tend to agree with that statement. If you are holy, then I assume you are happy. You’re just not the kind of happy that YOU were looking for or expecting.
    So if the world is driving your expectations and you are using the “Jones'” as your point of reference for happiness, you’ll continue to find yourself not in line with God’s will for your life.
    My question is, how does God expect us sinful natured creation to “live in this world, but not of the world,” (a popular paraphrase) if this is all we know and He knows what a powerful psychological influence it is? How do we really know we are ever following the “right” path? What kind of blessings should we expect? Worldly ones?
    As I read the Old Testament, it seems that the many blessings God showered on his followers were indeed worldly. Livestock, wealth, power, etc., so how am I supposed to tell the difference if God has blessed me with this new 42″ flat screen LCD or if this is just something I thought I deserved? And what did I do to deserve it?
    To confuse things even more, I’m confused by 1 John 2:15-17, where it suggests that anyone who loves the world, “the love of the father is not in him.” Where do we draw the line?

  • 2. Slo  |  January 23, 2007 at 11:27 am

    For me, I think the hardest part is just believing that God cares about my happiness at all. It often seems that He is concerned only with teaching me lessons, and they are most often painful ones. Maybe it is that I have not yet figured out how to walk in His way.

  • 3. Whiph  |  January 21, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    Seems to me that the Enemy’s greatest lie comes along the line that I know more than my Father about how to make myself happy. Eve and Adam bought the lie, and we have all been following in their footsteps ever since. May we be aware of the lie every time it is presented.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,878 hits

