Playing games.

January 16, 2007 at 7:29 pm 5 comments

Growing up, playing with cards or dice was a kin to being an ax-murderer on the sin chart so I pretty much never played games.  Linda on the other hand played lots of games, including putting her hands to a decadent deck of cards and tossing the dangerous dice.  Being the stick-in-the-mud I am, rather than learn to play after we were married, we didn’t play many table type games with our kids, opting to do more of the outside team games.Over a year ago things changed in our lives to the degree that I found myself with less to do than normal and we found ourselves camping a considerable amount.  Along with some new friends that enjoyed table games we have started playing way more than ever before and strangest thing, I like it.  I am having some good fun and after 30+ years of marriage without games, Linda is getting to do something she has always liked.

Not sure if there is a point here or not.  Perhaps it is good to do some things you don’t really like to do because someone you care about likes it and you might learn to like it.  Maybe the point is that slowing down to play a table game teaches us something about play that we need to know.  Or it could be that sharing something as simple as a game of cards or dice grows us up in some ways we need to grow up.

If you want the rules to Farkle let me know. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bears 27-Hawks 24. Who cares? The voice in side of me.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ryan Smith  |  April 25, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    This Farkle… it intrigues me. I have experienced the exact opposite situation as you Greg, in that I grew up playing games while my wifes family did not.

    Now as what I would consider still “young marrieds” (only 6 years) I have slowly started to convince her to play games.

    Indeed the mere dynamic getting the family, friends, or just another loved one across the table from you, instead of beside you on the couch, is one that I fully support. Both my wife and I have commented how games seem to stimulate a positive family enviornment, tv, computesr, video games and the other trappings of todays popular culture entertainment offerings all are intended to interact with the individual, but allow for little to no interaction amongst the individuals in the room.

    So as an avid game player, I take you up on your offer for the rules to farkle… please share! :p

  • 2. Leslee  |  January 18, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    You made a few good points as to why playing games can be a good thing, but you really passed over one of the best reasons to play. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. That is life. It’s good to be able to do both with grace, but it takes practice. So as I remember, I beat you solidly the last couple of times we played farkel and perhaps you need an opportunity to redeem yourself and we both can practice giving and receiving grace.

  • 3. Jaynee  |  January 18, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Inside every person there is a lonley di just waiting to be tossed. ; )

  • 4. BS  |  January 17, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    farkle…one of the greatest games of all time…that is, if you play with some serious consequences. i suggest that the loser for you and mom should get a tattoo of some sort. that might shake it up a bit. also, i must admit, because you have never really liked games, dad, i don’t really like them. although, i think i learned to like them a bit sooner then you did! i’m reading every day so keep ’em coming!

  • 5. Linda  |  January 17, 2007 at 7:57 am

    I, like your wife, grew up playing games and still love to play. When I think back to my childhood days when my entire family would sit down together and play games, it made me feel special that my parents would take the time to join in. During the game, we all had the same goal and our focus was only on the game and each other. It was true togetherness for me. Most of the other time spent with the whole family everyone was had their own focus. Even today, when my husband will sit down and play a game with me I get that childish feeling of being special.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

