First view from the juniper tree

January 13, 2007 at 6:51 pm 6 comments

Linda and i spent part of our day driving through the Joshua Tree National Park which is not far from where we have our trailer parked in Twentynine Palms, CA.  After spending the morning researching blog hosts and “how to” related to blogging, I needed a break so we headed out to view the desert environment which is the Joshua Tree National Park.  $15.00 to get in seemed a little steep (an increase of $5 from last year) but we paid the fare and enjoyed the stark but beautiful scenery.

While we were driving I was trying to think of a title for this blog that spoke to the hope I have for it.  There in the desert landscape we saw a juniper tree and I thought of Elijah and his chosen exile to the desert and the relative cover of a juniper tree (recent translations call it a broom tree but I like juniper tree better) to escape a bad situation and unfortunate choices on his part.

Though I am certainly no Elijah, I have felt this last year what he must have been feeling when he sat down under a solitary juniper tree (broom tree) and said “I have had enough, Lord, take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors.” 

The cool thing about this Elijah story (1Kings 19) is that an angel comes along and ministers to him in both physical and emotional ways.  That has been my experience the last 14 months or so.  As I have found shelter under the “juniper tree,” God has ministered to me in my brokenness and disappointment in ways that may find there way into this blog.

I hope to write about music, worship, fly-fishing, church, the Trinity, yes including the Spirit, what it is like to live full time in less than 400 square feet, and anything else that comes to mind.

I would love to have your comments.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Living in the Northwest is like…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Grace  |  January 23, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    G’Day mate,
    Any bloke who blogs about Double Doubles and Taylor Guitars has got to be
    up there with the finest. Thanks Greg for imparting into our lives from the
    wonderful wisdom and experience you have gained, along with the awesome revelation of grace through the past seasons. Hope to see you soon. Steve Grace

  • 2. Whiph  |  January 21, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    I look forward to reading what you have to say in the future. You have much to share with others. May you be blessed as you continue on this adventure.

  • 3. Warren Scandrett  |  January 20, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    This a test run. I want to see how this note will play out on your blog. Since my last name is the same as yours, it might be expected that I will want to say some personal things. You are not going to leave old email behind as you graduate into blogging, are you? I like very much the deeply personal flavor of what you write and the way you move gently into a reasonable application. Do I have space for some favorite lines from John Piper?

    WHAT IS SUSTAINING GRACE?
    Not grace to flee what is not bliss
    Nor flight from all distress, but this
    The grace that orders our trouble and pain
    And then in the darkness is there to sustain.

  • 4. Glenn Klein  |  January 18, 2007 at 11:04 am

    I’ve enjoyed reading your writing. I like you have wondered at times if I should put my thoughts in place where others might react. Not brave enough to do that YET!

  • 5. Leslee  |  January 18, 2007 at 10:08 am

    Listening to you has always been a joy and priviledge. I for one, will listen (or read) with my heart first and then my head for you have taught me more than all my teachers up till now. So keep writing! and talking for that matter!

  • 6. BS  |  January 16, 2007 at 10:01 am

    i’m excited to read what you write…at least you will have 1 reader!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

