Monday morning meanderings. Vol.52

July 28, 2008 at 6:22 am 3 comments

Grapeview, WA

Sitting here in the trailer doing some schedule work for Convergence, our ministry school in Oklahoma, working on a message for Sunday morning and listening to Willie’s Place on XM radio (satellite radio).  This is mostly honky tonk music featuring Willie, Hank, Merle, Ray, George and others.  Kind of makes me homesick for our other home in Oklahoma. 

Item one.  Canyon Paul’s #2 birthday was yesterday and Brad and Summer had a party for him on Saturday.  It was fun to watch him and all his little friends, including his 3 cousins interact (actually 6 cousins but I refer to the ones related to me). There were lots of young couples with young children many of whom we have known since they were little.  Hard to believe CP is already 2.  Sure glad we are here to help celebrate.

Item two. The great focus of my current life, truck driving school is coming to close and none too soon.  I am pretty tired of the schedule and the intensity of it all.  I think I am getting it, finally.  I have struggled to pick up the shifting and down shifting using rpm’s and speed.  I think I almost have the hang of it but this week will tell.  Drove over 100 miles on the freeway Friday and that was fun.  Going 60 mph down a very busy freeway in an 18 wheeler was a little surreal.  All the pre-trip, driving and skill tests are this week, both for the school and the DOL.  I really don’t care about the school certificate, though someday I might need to drive for a big company that requires it, but I do want the Class A CDL.  My test with the DOL is Friday at 2:30, so if you think about it, pray. 

While this has been a lot more than I bargained for, it had been good for me, no matter what happens.  I know a lot of things I didn’t know before, have a greater respect for truck drivers and will be better able to help run our little trucking company.  Hard to believe we are in the trucking business, but we are, and it is producing a really nice income, without having to do too much.  It really is the favor of our Father on us.  I plan to finish the course, do the best I can on the tests and leave the rest in the hands of my Papa.  Thanks for your prayers.

Item three.  Some of you must remember the bumper stickers and bracelets that many Christians were displaying a few years back with these words:  What would Jesus do or said acronimically (is that a word?) WWJD.  Never wore it myself but the concept has merit.  I saw a really funny bumper sticker as I was flying down the highway in my 18 wheeled chariot that was a take off on the What would Jesus do.  It said “What would Scooby do?”  I laughed out loud and my instructor woke up and asked me what was so funny.  There was just no way to tell him.  What would Scooby do?

Item four.  This is funny too.  One of my top five favorite blogs is Stuff Christians Like and recently it asked the question “Jessica Simpson, Should we take her back?”  Read it, it really is funny, in a weird christian sort of way, which is what this blog is about-weird stuff Christians do.  Find it here.

Item five.  Item five comes via the Internetmonk and worth your time to read.  I get so weary of the whole theological debate that really proves nothing except providing a way to not like other Family members.  Do we feel better about ourselves when we hold a position so strongly that we will not worship with those who don’t or will not let our young adults gather with those who do not share our particular theological bent?  I just don’t get it anymore.  While I am not in tune with this writer’s theology, he gets it when it comes to the importance of Family over theology.  Read it here.

Item six. Enjoyed another opportunity to preach today and again was able to see old friends who showed up to say hello.  The audience was responsive, we laughed some, worshiped some and learned some things about the Father’s love for us.  Good times.

Have a great week and thanks for reading the Juniper Tree.  I have a really nice readership that seems to like checking back regularly.  In another week I plan to get back to more writing.

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Humor, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, Northwest, RV, The Father, Thoughts, Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.51 Trucking school almost finished. Please pray!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kenan Butler  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I have enjoyed your posts and writings over the last few years. Thank you for writing and good luck on the test.

    Kenan

  • 2. Dan and Nancy Triplett  |  July 28, 2008 at 10:09 am

    We enjoyed seeing both you and Linda and especially enjoyed hearing you preach again. It was a great message and spoke to me personally. I’ll tell you about it over coffee. I’m off to Minnesota this Thursday but will “catch you on the flip-flop.” Just to be sure, that’s an old trucker’s term for “catch you on the way back.” These days if you say “flip-flop” people think you might be talking about politicians – or as Nancy suggests: shoes. :)

    God bless!

    Dan and Nancy

  • 3. Randy  |  July 28, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Enjoy your posts. Am praying you do well on your driving and your tests this week.

    Randy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 134,582 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

