Monday morning meanderings. Vol.22

November 26, 2007 at 2:46 pm 3 comments

South Jordan, Utah

This is day 5 of our 10 day visit to Utah to care for our grandsons, Sloan and Sean while their parents are in Ethiopia to get their third son Eyob and bring him home to Utah.  I can’t even imagine doing this childcare duty on my own.  I guess you do what you have to do, but I still can’t imagine it. Linda does so much more than I, yet at this mid-point in our childcare visit I find myself constantly wondering when it will be nap-time or bedtime.  We are having a good time but it sure is a lot of work.  Anyone who thinks that staying home to care for pre-school children is being a slacker, has never done it.  Right at this moment Sloan is wiping boogers out of Sean’s nose.  Good times.

Item one. If you had any doubt that men who drink too much and when they are with a bunch of other drunk men do some really stupid things, you might want to read this (here) from today’s Seattle TimesIt would be really stupid funny if it weren’t so stupid sad. Is life not worth anything anymore?

Item two. I am certainly no football expert but I can tell when someone is really good and watching Missouri whip it to Kansas Saturday night I saw one of the best quarterback performances of the year.  Chase Daniel who completed 40 of 49 passes for 361 yards and 3 TDs was almost perfect and as good as any college QB I can remember.  Missouri’s coach, Gary Pinkle, was almost the Washington Husky coach but I think it was Rick Neuhisel who was hired instead.  Any doubt he was the better choice?

Item three.  Here in Utah you can never escape the presence of Mormonism.  As I have mentioned before there is a Mormon church across the street from our daughters house and there is one out the back door too.  A mile away they are building a new temple, which according to real estate people makes this house worth a lot more money.  Signs advertise “temple views” as a means of attracting buyers to their houses.  No where else in the world would anyone pay more money for a house, just to have a view of a temple.  Whatever the people who market Mormonism to the world are doing it is working and working well.  A religion that was once all white and mostly west of the Mississippi, now has more than half of it’s 13 million adherents outside the United States and growing fast in places such as black Africa.  From one temple in Salt Lake City there are now “temple views” in more than 40 countries.

As one Mormon watcher put it, “when a cult grows up it becomes a culture”.  Certainly true here in Mormon Mecca.  (See full Washington Post article on Mormon Africa here)

Item four. When I was a child the highlight of the week was going to the small public libraries in the towns where we lived.  We didn’t have a TV and very few other distractions so we read books.  I have been a reader ever since.  I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t reading.  I read mystery novels and other novels, I read theology and other books of a serious Christian nature, I read other peoples blogs and I read newspapers of all kinds, on-line of course.  The Internet has made me even more of a reader, not less, but there is something about having a book in my hands that really can’t be beat for good entertainment.  Since I derive so much enjoyment from reading I found this article from the New York Times disturbing.  A study from the National Endowment For the Arts shows how serious the decline in reading is, and what it costs you in real dollars to not be a reader.  It is never too late to start reading and to start helping your children learn to read. If you have read this far in this blog you have read over 750 words, so, see you are a reader.  Another article in the New York Times lists 100 Notable Books of the YearI haven’t read any of them.

Item five.  Prayer for the week. Almighty and everlasting God, whose will it is to restore all things in your well-beloved Son, the King of kings and Lord of lords: Mercifully grant that the peoples of the earth, divided and enslaved by sin, may be freed and brought together under his most gracious rule; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

Enjoy your week, wherever you are.

 

Entry filed under: Adoption, Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Humor, Jesus, Monday meanderings, News, Northwest, The Father, Thoughts, Travel. Tags: .

Traci and Brandon are off!! Update from Ethiopia.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rlovingfoss  |  November 30, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I would call you a writer that is bordering on becoming prolific. I guess when you are not reading you might as well write so that others have something to read.

  • 2. amanda  |  November 26, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    i LOVE the part about wondering if it is nap time or bed time yet. boy i feel like that some days.

  • 3. Grampa Warren  |  November 26, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    I haven’t read any off that list either. My latest book was by Robert Withrow, loaned by friends whose judgement I trust. Can’t remember the name of the book. I enoyed it immensely I think he is a prolific writer and am expecting to borrow more .. I loaned it to another family and I hope they return it. I read one John Grissom book about a wealthy man who jumped to his death early in the book and his lawyer spent the rest of the book looking for the sole survivor, a missionary. I was fascinated and bought another of his books (garage sale, of course), “The _____Brief.” I read a few pages and gave up. It was crude (in my opinion, Do you realize that those last three words I typed with right hand only?) The language was not uplifting. My new experience with cable Tv could detract from my reading unless I am careful. Do the boys ask about their Grampa Warren every hour on the hour? I am praying for B & T. WS

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 134,107 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

